Oregon Pharmacy License Verification: Lookup & Renewal Steps

Oregon Board of Pharmacy • primary-source lookup • renewal • Board action

Verify an Oregon Pharmacy License or Registration the Right Way

Use this guide to verify an Oregon pharmacist, pharmacy technician, certified Oregon pharmacy technician, intern, pharmacy, outlet, wholesaler, manufacturer or drug distribution registration through official Board routes.

The Oregon lookup is the primary source, but the result still needs a careful read: match the license type, status, expiration, person or facility, and whether the record notes Board action.

Start Here: What Oregon Board of Pharmacy Record Do You Need?

The phrase “Oregon Board of Pharmacy license verification” can mean an individual license, facility/outlet registration, supplier registration, renewal status, Board action, certified verification or public records request.

Pharmacist

Verify a pharmacist license

Use this when you need status, expiration, renewal context, CPE timing or Board action for an Oregon pharmacist.

Open Oregon license lookup
Technician / COPT

Check technician or certified technician

Use this when checking an Oregon Pharmacy Technician or Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician, not just PTCB or NHA certification.

See technician guide
Pharmacy / outlet

Verify a pharmacy or outlet

Use facility search for pharmacies, drug outlets, wholesalers, manufacturers, drug distribution agents and related registrations.

See facility guide
Board action

Check disciplinary documents

The verification record can note Board action, including Notice and Final Orders, while complaint information is not disclosed.

Check Board action steps
Renewal

Renew individual or facility records

Use eGov for renewal, contact updates and certified copies. Renewal cycles differ by role and facility type.

Go to renewal cycles
Another state

Order verification or certified copy

Use this when another state board or entity needs official Oregon verification, or when you need a certified copy.

Go to certified copy section

Oregon Pharmacy License Verification in 60 Seconds

Use this workflow when you need a reliable Oregon Board of Pharmacy lookup for employment, credentialing, patient safety, supplier checks or facility compliance.

Open the official Oregon license/registration verification page

The Board’s lookup says its information comes from the official database and is considered a secure primary source for license and registration verification.

Choose person or facility search

Use person search for pharmacist, intern, COPT and pharmacy technician records. Use facility search for pharmacies, outlets, manufacturers, wholesalers and distribution registrations.

Search by number if available

License or registration number usually gives the most accurate result. If you only have a partial name, use the wildcard rule below.

Use wildcard search for partial data

The lookup allows wildcard search by placing an asterisk after partial data. Example: use Al* if you are unsure whether the name is Alan, Allan or Allen.

Open the exact record and read the status

Check license type, status, expiration, city or facility address, and whether the record notes Board action.

Save proof of the check

Record the date checked, portal used, license or registration number, name or facility, status, expiration and Board action result.

Official lookup link

Use this link after deciding whether you need person search or facility search.

Open Oregon License/Registration Verification

Person Search vs Facility Search: Pick the Correct Oregon Record

A pharmacist license does not prove a pharmacy outlet is licensed, and a pharmacy registration does not prove every person working there is licensed. Verify the correct record type.

Lookup target Use this for Common mistake
Pharmacist Individual pharmacist status, expiration, renewal and Board action. Trusting an old wall certificate, resume or pharmacy website.
Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician COPT license status and renewal cycle. Confusing COPT with regular Pharmacy Technician.
Pharmacy Technician Technician license status and CPE/renewal context. Assuming PTCB or NHA certification alone equals Oregon licensure.
Intern Oregon intern license status and two-year renewal cycle. Treating school enrollment as an active intern license.
Pharmacy / outlet Facility registration, location, category and expiration. Checking only the pharmacist-in-charge and not the outlet.
Wholesaler, manufacturer or drug distribution agent Supplier registration and authorization category. Trusting invoices, websites or sales reps without checking the Board record.
Medical gas or specialized outlet Special facility or outlet status. Using the wrong license category in search filters.

What to Enter in the Oregon Pharmacy Lookup Tool

Search tools are only useful when the search data is clean. Use the official wildcard rule and avoid over-filtering the record.

Best field

License or registration number

Use the number when available. It reduces similar-name and business-name confusion.

Partial name

Use wildcard *

Place an asterisk after partial data when you are unsure of exact spelling. Example: use Al* for Alan, Allan or Allen.

Facility names

Try legal and public names

Pharmacy and outlet records may differ from storefront branding, website names or invoice names.

Status filter

Do not hide non-active results

If you filter only for active records, you may miss expired, lapsed, inactive, probation, revoked or suspended records.

City / state

Use location only after broad search

Search broad first, then use city, state or ZIP to separate similar records.

Proof record

Save the full detail page

For compliance files, save the full detail result, not just the search result row.

Oregon Pharmacy License Status: What the Result Means

The Oregon lookup includes many status labels. Use this table to decide whether you can rely on a record or need Board follow-up.

Status/result What it usually means User action
Active The record may be usable if identity, license type and expiration match. Check Board action and save the verification date.
Expired The record is not current based on the expiration shown. Do not rely until renewal or Board confirmation updates the record.
Inactive The credential is not in active authority status. Verify limitations before allowing practice, work or facility operation.
Lapsed / Lapsed Suspended A missed renewal or requirement issue may exist. Use eGov or contact licensing before relying on the record.
Probation Board conditions may apply. Open Board action documents and review limits before making decisions.
Suspended / Revoked / Surrendered Serious practice or registration limitation exists. Do not rely without direct Board review.
Hold The record may need Board review or has an unresolved issue. Contact the Board with the record number and status shown.
No result Wrong category, spelling, facility/person mismatch, old name or too many filters. Use wildcard search, switch person/facility search, and broaden filters.

Board Action vs Complaint Information: What Oregon Shows

This is one of the most important Oregon verification details. The public lookup can show Board action, but complaint information itself is not disclosed through license verification.

Primary source

Use the Board lookup first

The Oregon lookup says its database is the secure primary source for license and registration verification.

Board action

Notice and Final Orders may be shown

Each licensee record will note whether there has been Board action, including but not limited to Notice and Final Orders.

Complaint information

Complaints are not disclosed in lookup

State law prohibits disclosure of complaint information through the lookup. Use complaint or public records routes when appropriate.

Open the exact person or facility record

Similar names and similar businesses can appear. Confirm number, license type and location before reading Board action.

Look for Board action notation

If Board action is noted, review available documents before hiring, contracting, dispensing, purchasing or credentialing.

Use public records for older or missing documents

The Board’s disciplinary-action page says pre-2024 disciplinary action reports should be requested through a public records request.

Oregon Board of Pharmacy Renewal Cycles

Renewal timing depends on whether you are checking a pharmacist, intern, technician, COPT, pharmacy, outlet or supplier registration.

Record type Expiration / renewal cycle Before renewal
Pharmacist June 30 of each odd year. Complete pharmacist CPE before submitting renewal.
Pharmacy Technician June 30 of each even year. Complete 20 hours of CPE for the current cycle before 2026 renewal.
Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician June 30 of each even year. Complete 20 hours of CPE for the current cycle before 2026 renewal.
Intern November 30; valid for 2 years. Complete 2 hours of cultural competency CPE before renewal.
Nonprescription Drug Outlet January 31 annually. Do not sell nonprescription medications after January 31 until renewed.
Pharmacy, Community Health Clinic, Correctional Facility March 31 annually. Use online facility renewal and verify final public status after processing.
Wholesaler, Manufacturer, Drug Distribution Agent September 30 annually. Use eGov and facility login details from renewal notice.
Renewal reminder

The Board notes that late renewals may be subject to late fees. Use eGov for renewal, contact updates and certified copies.

Open renewal page

Oregon Pharmacy CPE Requirements Before Renewal

Do not submit renewal until required CPE is complete. If audited and required CPE is incomplete, the Board says disciplinary action may apply.

License type Current cycle / hours Required topics
Pharmacist July 1, 2023–June 30, 2025; 30 hours total for full-cycle renewal. 2 hours pharmacy law, 2 hours patient safety or medication error prevention, 2 hours cultural competency, 1 hour Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management, plus 23 additional hours.
Pharmacist first licensed during cycle Prorated hours may apply by initial issue date. Use the RPH CPE FAQ if first licensed between July 1, 2024 and June 30, 2025.
Pharmacy Technician July 1, 2024–June 30, 2026; 20 hours total. 2 hours pharmacy law, 2 hours patient safety or medication error prevention, 2 hours cultural competency, plus 14 additional pharmacy-related hours.
Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician July 1, 2024–June 30, 2026; 20 hours total. Same 20-hour technician structure: law, patient safety/error prevention, cultural competency and additional pharmacy-related hours.
Intern Valid for 2 years. 2 hours of cultural competency CPE before renewal.
OPMC upload

Upload pain-management certificate

For pharmacist renewal, the Board says the Oregon Pain Management Commission course certificate must be uploaded into the eGov profile.

CPE Monitor note

Not every Board-approved program appears automatically

Oregon Board-approved informational programs are not ACPE-accredited, so completion does not automatically appear in NABP CPE Monitor.

Official PDF Details: First Renewal, CPE Monitor, Uploads and Audits

The official Board PDFs answer common renewal questions that the standard lookup page does not explain.

PDF detail What it means User action
Pharmacists first licensed during the renewal cycle may have prorated CPE. A new pharmacist may not always need the full 30 hours for first renewal. Use the RPH CPE FAQ if your Oregon pharmacist license was first issued during the current cycle.
Pharmacists must use NABP CPE Monitor for ACPE credit tracking. ACPE credits should be tracked in NABP CPE Monitor before renewal. Create or check your NABP e-Profile before attesting to CPE completion.
Board-approved, non-ACPE programs may not appear in CPE Monitor. Free Board law CPE may require manual certificate upload. Upload certificates to eGov using “Update License Info and Upload Documents.”
Technician/COPT first-renewal CPE can depend on issue date. Some first-renewal technician licensees may have a smaller cultural-competency-only requirement. Check your initial issue date and the current technician CPE FAQ before renewing.
CPE does not have to be live or technician-specific to count for technician/COPT renewal. Acceptable CPE can be broader if it meets Oregon rules. Confirm course type, topic and certificate proof before relying on it.
CPE proof must be retained for a minimum of six years. You need certificates even after renewal is submitted. Keep certificates, CPE Monitor records and eGov uploads organized for audits.
If audited without required CPE proof, a case may be assigned and discipline may result. CPE attestation is not risk-free if the hours were not actually completed. Do not submit renewal until required CPE is complete and documented.

Pharmacy Technician vs Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician

Oregon separates Pharmacy Technician and Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician. National certification may support an application, but you still need the Oregon Board record.

Minimum eligibility

18 years old + high school/equivalent

The official Oregon technician page states Pharmacy Technicians and Certified Pharmacy Technicians must be at least 18 and have completed high school or equivalent.

Certified route

PTCB or NHA certification

Applicants with PTCB or NHA certification should use the Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician application route.

Processing expectation

Applications are reviewed case by case

The technician page notes that application submission does not guarantee an issue date and each application is processed case by case.

Verification mistake

National certification is not the Oregon lookup

Always verify the Oregon Board record before treating someone as licensed in Oregon.

CPE

20 hours before 2026 renewal

Technician and COPT renewal requires 20 hours for the current CPE cycle before renewing in 2026 unless first-renewal rules apply.

Name/contact updates

Report changes quickly

The renewal page lists legal name, preferred email, phone, address and employer changes among items reportable to the Board.

Facility, Outlet, Wholesaler and Manufacturer Renewal Checks

Facility users should check the public record and the eGov renewal account. Owner/location changes are not routine renewals.

Facility login

Use registration number, code or renewal ID

If you do not have facility login information, the renewal page says you need the registration number, registration code or renewal ID from the annual notice.

Faster renewal

Online renewal is required for facilities

The Board says online renewal gives faster turnaround and fewer deficiencies.

Owner/location change

New application and fee required

Owner or location changes require a new application and fee. These are separate from annual renewal and cannot be done during renewal.

Vendor/customer check

Use public verification after renewal

After renewing, use public verification so vendors, customers and compliance teams can confirm the final status.

Contact

Email licensing for facility questions

For licensing and renewal questions, the renewal page lists pharmacy.licensing@bop.oregon.gov.

No notice

Do not wait past expiration

If renewal notice is missing, use the Board renewal page and eGov account rather than waiting until the public record expires.

Certified Copy, License Verification or Public Records?

Do not confuse the free public lookup with an official verification ordered for another state board or agency, or a public records request for older or missing disciplinary documents.

Another state

Order license verification

Use the Board resource to order a license verification for another state when a receiving board requires official Oregon verification.

Certified copy

Order through eGov

Use eGov to order certified copies of a license or registration and to update personal contact information.

Public records

Use for disciplinary case records not online

The public records PDF says requests should include the licensee or facility name, license/registrant number or case number, and your contact information.

Possible fee note

The public records PDF says research and photocopy fees may apply. If the charge is more than $25, the agency must first notify the requester of the estimated fee and receive written approval before starting the work.

No Result, Lapsed Status or Wrong Record? Fix the Search

Use this troubleshooting section before assuming the person or facility is not licensed or before using a private directory result.

No result

Use wildcard and fewer filters

Try partial name plus *, remove city/ZIP filters, and search by number if available.

Wrong category

Switch person/facility search

If you searched a pharmacist but need the pharmacy, use facility search. If you searched a pharmacy but need a technician, use person search.

Lapsed or suspended

Do not rely without Board confirmation

Use eGov renewal, Board action documents or direct Board contact before treating the record as usable.

Name changed

Use name-change resource

If the legal name changed, use the Board’s name-change resource and search both current and prior names when verifying.

Facility moved

Owner/location changes need new applications

A changed address may indicate a new application or separate facility action is required.

Still unclear

Contact licensing

Email pharmacy.licensing@bop.oregon.gov with the exact record number, name, license type and status shown.

Complaint and Public Records Checklist

If verification shows a problem, or if you have a safety concern, use the correct complaint or public records route. Complaint information is not the same thing as Board action shown in the lookup.

Before filing a complaint

Collect the details

  • Name of the pharmacist, technician, intern, pharmacy, outlet or supplier.
  • License or registration number if available.
  • Prescription, receipt, label, email, photo or written documentation.
  • Date, time, location and what happened.
  • Names of staff, witnesses or facility contacts.
  • What harm, risk, rule issue or public-safety concern occurred.
Public records

Use when you need documents

For older disciplinary-action reports or records not shown in the lookup, the Board points users to the public records request route.

Official Oregon Board of Pharmacy Contact

Use direct Board contact when the lookup result is unclear, a Board action document is missing, or a renewal/facility change needs confirmation.

Board office

Oregon Board of Pharmacy

800 NE Oregon St., Suite 150, Portland, OR 97232. Hours: Monday–Friday, 8:00 AM–4:30 PM, closed state holidays.

Phone and fax

Call or fax

Phone: 971-673-0001. Fax: 971-673-0002.

Email routing

Use the right inbox

General: pharmacy.board@bop.oregon.gov. Licensing/renewal/CPE: pharmacy.licensing@bop.oregon.gov. Compliance: pharmacy.compliance@bop.oregon.gov.

Phone scam alert

Do not pay by phone

The Board warns licensees about scam callers impersonating Board staff. Board staff will never ask for or accept fee payments by phone.

PIC change

Use PIC route

For pharmacist-in-charge changes, use the Board PIC page and email PIC-related questions to pic.change@bop.oregon.gov.

Drug theft/loss

Use drug-loss reporting route

The Board contact page lists pharmacy.druglossreporting@bop.oregon.gov for pharmacy drug theft/loss reports.

Oregon Board of Pharmacy License Verification FAQs

These answers cover the most common Oregon lookup, renewal, CPE, technician, Board action, facility and complaint questions.

How do I verify an Oregon Board of Pharmacy license online?

Use the official Oregon License/Registration Verification page. Search by license or registration number when possible, or use name/facility search and open the full detail record before relying on the result.

Is the Oregon pharmacy license lookup a primary source?

Yes. The Oregon lookup says its information comes from the Board’s official database and is considered a secure primary source for license and registration verification.

How do I search if I only know part of a name?

Use the wildcard rule by placing an asterisk after partial data. For example, use Al* if you are unsure whether the name is Alan, Allan or Allen.

Does Oregon license verification show complaints?

No. The lookup explains that state law prohibits disclosure of complaint information. Board action, including Notice and Final Orders, may be disclosed, and each record notes whether there has been Board action.

How do I check Oregon Board disciplinary action?

Open the exact person or facility record in the license lookup and check whether Board action is noted. For disciplinary reports prior to 2024, the Board points users to a public records request.

When do Oregon pharmacist licenses expire?

Oregon pharmacist licenses expire June 30 of each odd year. Pharmacist CPE must be completed before renewal is submitted.

When do Oregon pharmacy technician licenses expire?

Oregon Pharmacy Technician and Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician licenses expire June 30 of each even year. The current technician CPE period listed by the Board is July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2026.

How many CPE hours do Oregon pharmacy technicians need?

Before the 2026 renewal, Oregon Pharmacy Technicians and Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians must complete 20 hours of CPE, including pharmacy law, patient safety or medication error prevention, cultural competency and additional pharmacy-related hours, unless a first-renewal exception applies.

What is the difference between Pharmacy Technician and Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician?

A Pharmacy Technician is a Board-licensed technician. A Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician is the Oregon technician route for applicants with certification such as PTCB or NHA. Both still require Oregon Board verification.

When do Oregon pharmacy and facility registrations renew?

Oregon pharmacies, community health clinics and correctional facilities expire March 31 annually; nonprescription drug outlets expire January 31 annually; and wholesalers, manufacturers and drug distribution agents expire September 30 annually.

How do I order an Oregon license verification for another state?

Use the Board’s paid resource to order a license verification for another state, or use eGov to order certified copies. Fees listed for payment-required resources are non-refundable.

Who do I contact about an Oregon pharmacy license problem?

Contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy at 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 150, Portland, OR 97232. Phone: 971-673-0001. General email: pharmacy.board@bop.oregon.gov. Renewal/licensing email: pharmacy.licensing@bop.oregon.gov.

Ready to Verify an Oregon Pharmacy License?

Start with the official Oregon License/Registration Verification page, choose person or facility search, use license number or wildcard search, read status and Board action carefully, then use eGov, renewal, CPE, certified-copy, public-records or complaint routes only when your situation requires them.